Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Gov. and Local Officials Honor Dayton as Innovation Hub

Yesterday state and local officials gathered at the University of Dayton to recognize the Dayton area as Ohio's first Hub of Innovation and Opportunity. Governor Ted Strickland headlined the event as UD President Dan Curran, Dept. of Development Interim Director Lisa Patt-McDaniel, Dayton Mayor Rhine McLin, Montgomery County Commissioner Debbie Lieberman, and CEO of the Dayton Development Coalition Jim Leftwich all gave their accolades to the region and the universities within.

The governor explained that for a region to be designated an Ohio Hub, they must "identify core strengths and develop a strategic plan for urban revitalization." A Hub designation is a "commitment from both the state and region to work collaboratively and target economic development efforts toward building upon those identified strengths. Dayton’s Ohio Aerospace Hub of Innovation builds upon the area’s strengths in aerospace, sensor technologies, and advanced materials to create new companies, sustain existing partners, and attract new investment based on Ohio’s world-class research, development, and industry assets, including The University of Dayton and Wright-Patterson Air Force Base."

The recognition ceremony was followed by a tour of the aerospace department and a photo opportunity for the governor and other elected officials.

This inaugural designation of an Ohio Hub coincided well with the Executive Order issued by Governor Strickland requiring the Dept. of Development to establish an advisory group of aerospace and aviation industry leaders to assist with efforts to maximize business opportunities in those fields in Ohio.

- Dustin A. Holfinger