Thursday, February 25, 2010

Six EVAs Award Winners Announced

AICUO is pleased to announce the six winners of our annual AICUO Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts (EVA). They are:
  • Maia Brown, Oberlin College
  • Morgan Carlson, The Cleveland Institute of Art
  • Charisse Harris, Baldwin-Wallace College
  • Amina Hassen, Oberlin College
  • Andrew Kuhar, The Cleveland Institute of Art
  • Erica Podwioski, Columbus College of Art and Design
The program is the nation's only award for an intercollegiate on-line art competition. Student nominees were chosen initially by their own colleges and universities as outstanding senior art students. The six award winners were then chosen by a panel of art-faculty judges from among the 19 nominees.

The entire competition is conducted on line, with students uploading portfolios for review by judges over the Internet. Portfolios can be reviewed on the competition Web site.

Over the next several weeks, a panel of working artists, art journalists, and others from the arts community will review the on-line portfolios. Each of the award winners receives an original piece of art glass as a trophy. The Grand Award winner will receive $2,500 in addition to his or her trophy.

Past winners of the Grand Award have included Amy Rinaldi, whose sculptures and wall pieces utilized canvas, linen, concrete, wax, and ink, and Georgia Wall, a performance and installation artist. The winner will be announced on April 26 at an exhibition and ceremony at Denison University's Bryant Arts Center.

Friday, February 12, 2010

President Harris Mixes Up Finance Committee Line-Up

Senate President Bill Harris named Sen. Chris Widener (R-Springfield) vice chair of Senate Finance and Financial Institutions Committee. In addition, Sens. Karen Gillmor (R-Tiffin) and Jim Hughes (R-Columbus) have been appointed to the committee in lieu of Sens. Mark Wagoner (R-Toledo) and Bill Seitz (R-Cincinnati) who were removed from the committee.

- Dustin A. Holfinger

Thursday, February 4, 2010

AICUO President Elected to National Leadership Position

On Monday, February 1, AICUO President and General Counsel C. Todd Jones was elected to serve as the Secretary-Treasurer of the National Association of Independent College and University State Executives (NAICUSE), the national group for AICUO and its peer nonprofit associations. Jones is the first AICUO president to serve in this position, and will serve through next February. Under traditional NAICUSE leadership succession practices, he will serve next year as Vice Chair, and in 2012-13 will serve as NAICUSE Chair.

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Critical Thinking, Problem Solving Important to Employers

Are liberal arts colleges really preparing their graduates for the workforce? Skeptics abound but the truth, according to a recent survey, is a resounding yes.

The American Association of Colleges and Universities hired Peter D. Hart Research Associates last year to survey 302 employers around the country and asked them, among other things, about the learning outcomes that colleges should re-emphasize. Among the top five on the list, four outcomes directly result from liberal arts education:

89% The ability to effectively communicate orally and in writing.

81%: Critical thinking and analytical reasoning skills

79%: The ability to apply knowledge and skills to real-world settings through internships or other hands-on experiences

75%: The ability to analyze and solve complex problems

75%: The ability to connect choices and actions to ethical decisions

As this week's AICUO Graph of the Week (above) shows, employers will also be placing increasing emphasis on bachelor's degree holders as they look to fill new positions.

-- Bob Burke