Thursday, March 4, 2010

Presidential Higher Education Community Service Awards Announced

Six colleges and universities have been named as Presidential Awardees in the 2009 President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll, the highest federal recognition a college or university can receive for its commitment to volunteering, service-learning, and civic engagement. Of those six awardees, included is Ohio Wesleyan University of Delaware, Ohio. More than 1,700 OWU students volunteered last year, with many of them tutoring and mentoring K-12 students in the Columbus Public School District. Spring break typically finds the students traveling to other communities for service, including an orphanage in El Salvador and Lakota reservations in South Dakota.

The President’s Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll, launched in 2006, annually recognizes institutions of higher education for their commitment to and achievement in community service. The President’s Honor Roll increases the public’s awareness of the contributions that colleges and their students make to local communities and the nation as a whole. President Obama has pledged to make service a central cause of his administration and wishes to commemorate the significant role that higher institutions, their students, staff, and faculty play in helping to solve pressing social problems in the nation’s communities.

AICUO would also like to congratulate other Ohio independent colleges that received recognition.

2009 Honor Roll with Distinction
Oberlin College
Otterbein College
University of Dayton
Wittenberg University

2009 Honor Roll
Baldwin-Wallace College
Capital University
Case Western Reserve University
College of Mount St. Joseph
Defiance College
Denison University
John Carroll University
Marietta College
Mount Carmel College of Nursing
Mount Union College
Notre Dame College
Ohio Northern University
University of Findlay
Urbana University
Wilmington College
Xavier University

Dustin A. Holfinger