Tuesday, January 18, 2011

AICUO President Appointed to State Board of Education

Today the new governor, John Kasich, announced his appointment of AICUO President C. Todd Jones as a member of the State Board of Education.

The board has 19 members, 11 who are elected by districts and eight who are appointed at large by the governor. Established in 1956, the board sets education policy and directed the planning and evaluative functions of Ohio’s public schools, and appoints the superintendent of public instruction. It oversees elementary and secondary education in the state, and has no control over public or private colleges (including teacher education programs) nor over the various joint vocational education programs across the state — those fall under the purview of the chancellor of the Ohio Board of Regents.

Todd was appointed to fill one of five vacancies among the at-large members of the board. His term will expire in December 2012, although he will be subject to reappointment for additional four-year terms thereafter.