Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Marietta Baseball Wins NCAA Division III Title

Marietta's baseball team captured its fifth NCAA Division III baseball championship, by defeating Chapman (Calif.) 18-5 in the second game of the final day of the tournament, Tuesday at Appleton, Wis.

Chapman fended off elimination by defeating the Pioneers 15-4, giving the teams one loss apiece in the double-elimination playoff. The second game then became the de facto national championship game, and the Pioneers took charge early, forging a 9-1 lead after three innings.

Marietta is the all-time leader in NCAA Division III baseball championships, as this year's champs join winners in 1981, 1983, 1986 and 2006.

This represents the second NCAA team championship won by an AICUO member this year. In March, Denison upset perennial winner Kenyon, both association members, to capture the Division III men's swimming and diving championship.

The Pioneers came out of the winner's bracket in the double-elimination tournament, beating Salisbury (Md.) 8-0 on Friday and Chapman 9-4 on Saturday. On Sunday, a 5-1 win by the Pioneers sent Buena Vista (Iowa) to an elimination game, and on Monday, Marietta eliminated Keystone (Pa.) 11-2. By defeating Buena Vista on Sunday, Chapman became the last team besides Marietta in the tourney.

--Bob Burke

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Woodrow Wilson Fellows Recognized

From the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship website:

Chancellor Jim Petro announced today at the Ohio Statehouse that the Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowship will expand from four to seven university campuses in Ohio in the coming year, including the University of Dayton. Petro also welcomed members of the program’s inaugural class. These Fellows have been accepted into the program as high-quality math and science teacher candidates for high-need Ohio schools - two of whom are John Carroll University students.

Universities joining the Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowship are Ohio University, the University of Dayton, and the University of Toledo. Each will participate in the 2011-12 recruitment cycle, announcing their first classes of Fellows in spring 2012. These universities join four others already involved in the program: John Carroll University, the Ohio State University, the University of Akron and the University of Cincinnati. A map of the Ohio universities participating in the program can be found here.

The Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowship recruits accomplished career changers and outstanding recent college graduates in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (the STEM fields) who will prepare for math and science teaching positions in the state’s urban and rural schools. For a factsheet on the Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowship, click here.

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

What would happen to a needy student's OCOG award if ...

... the state budget passes in its current form?

It would drop by almost 2/3 from this year, and almost 7/8 from three years ago.

Want to know what to do about it?

Go here to write a letter to your legislator.

Monday, May 2, 2011

Ohio House to Slash OCOG Funding for Independent College Students

OCOG on Chopping Block for 62% Cut

On April 28, 2011, Rep. Ron Amstutz (R-Wooster) released the House majority’s revision of the governor’s FY 2012-2013 Executive Budget. Through two significant changes to the Ohio College Opportunity Grant (OCOG) program, need-based funding for students at independent colleges will be reduced from $35.5 million to an estimated $13.35 million in the coming fiscal year. This will represent a 62 percent cut in aid in one year.

The reduction will be acutely felt by every OCOG recipient. In the school year now ending (2010-11), each eligible full-time independent-college student received $1,848. (This was down from a flat grant of $2,256 per year in 2009-10 and a maximum of $4,992 prior to that.)

Take action by writing a letter to your legislator today. Click here to get started.