Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Ohio Northern Student Wins Miss Ohio Pageant

Elissa McCracken, a pharmacy student at Ohio Northern University, was selected this week as Ohio's representative to the 2013 Miss America pageant at the Miss Ohio pageant in Mansfield.

A pianist, McCracken will compete for the title in January at the pageant, which recently relocated from its long-time home in Atlantic City, N.J., to Las Vegas, Nev.

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Sports Roundup: Ashland Cager Named NCAA Division II Female Athlete of Year

Kari Daugherty of Fresno, Ohio, a junior on the national runner-up Ashland women's basketball team, has been named the the 2011-12 Honda Sports Award NCAA Division II Female Athlete of the Year. She will receive the award June 23 at the ESPN studios in Los Angeles. This honor is in addition to her being named the Women's Basketball Coaches' Association NCAA Division II National Player of the Year. Her coach, Sue Ramsey, received the national Coach of the Year award from WBCA.

Spring Tournament Results
Kenyon Falls In NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Final


NCAA Division III

Men’s championship
Preliminary rounds at Gambier, Ohio

Final rounds at Cary, N.C.
Semifinal, May 22: Kenyon 5, Washington (Mo.) 2
Final, May 23: Emory (Ga.) 5, Kenyon 3

Women’s championship 
Preliminary rounds at Atlanta, Ga.


NCAA Division III 

Championship at Salem, Va.
March 19: Luther (Iowa) 2, Ohio Northern 1 (Ohio Northern eliminated)


NCAA Division III 

Women’s championship
May 8-11 at Angola, Ind.
Of 101 individual participants, Mary Snode of Mount Union finished fifth at 17 over par, 2 strokes off the pace of the medalist, Catherine Wagner of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

Men’s championship 
May 15-18 at Howey-in-the-Hills, Pa.

NCAA Division II

Women’s championship 
May 16-19 at Louisville, Ky.
Of 70 individual participants, Erin Misheff of Ashland finished 10th at 24 over par, 14 strokes off the pace of medalist Abbey Gittings of Nova Southeastern (Fla.)

Friday, June 1, 2012

Marietta Repeats as NCAA Division III Baseball Champion

Rallying after a loss in the second round of the double-elimination NCAA Division III baseball tournament, Marietta swept four potential elimination games to claim its second consecutive championship, culminating with a 7-2 victory over Wheaton (Mass.), Wednesday at Grand Chute, Wis.

The championship is the third for the Pioneers in six seasons, its sixth title overall, and the first repeat championship since Rowan (N.J.) successfully defended in 1979.

This is the fourth NCAA team championship won by AICUO members this academic year. Other titleists this year are Denison in men's swimming, Ohio Wesleyan in men's soccer, and Wittenberg in volleyball.

Tournament game results:

May 25: Marietta 13, Whitworth (Wash.) 2
May 27: St. Thomas (Minn.) 3, Marietta 1
May 28: Marietta 12, Webster (Mo.) 7
May 29: Marietta 6, Wheaton (Mass.) 5, 10 inn.
May 30: Marietta 5, St. Thomas 0
May 30: Marietta 7, Wheaton 2