Friday, June 1, 2012

Marietta Repeats as NCAA Division III Baseball Champion

Rallying after a loss in the second round of the double-elimination NCAA Division III baseball tournament, Marietta swept four potential elimination games to claim its second consecutive championship, culminating with a 7-2 victory over Wheaton (Mass.), Wednesday at Grand Chute, Wis.

The championship is the third for the Pioneers in six seasons, its sixth title overall, and the first repeat championship since Rowan (N.J.) successfully defended in 1979.

This is the fourth NCAA team championship won by AICUO members this academic year. Other titleists this year are Denison in men's swimming, Ohio Wesleyan in men's soccer, and Wittenberg in volleyball.

Tournament game results:

May 25: Marietta 13, Whitworth (Wash.) 2
May 27: St. Thomas (Minn.) 3, Marietta 1
May 28: Marietta 12, Webster (Mo.) 7
May 29: Marietta 6, Wheaton (Mass.) 5, 10 inn.
May 30: Marietta 5, St. Thomas 0
May 30: Marietta 7, Wheaton 2