Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Four New Presidents Take Office at AICUO Campuses

The new academic year marks also the official beginning of the terms of office of four chief executives at AICUO member colleges and universities.

Antioch University
Felice Nudelman became chancellor of Antioch University on July 1, taking over upon the retirement of Toni Murdock, who served as chancellor of the multi-campus university for seven years.

Nudelman has a diverse background in education, and came to Antioch after 12 years of work for the New York Times Company, most recently as executive director of education, where she oversaw the development of the New York Times Knowledge Network. She also helped launch and is co-director of the American Democracy Project, which fosters student civic engagement at more than 250 universities. She has also served as executive director of Pace University’s School of Education, and in academic affairs at Bloomfield College. She earned her bachelor’s degree from Allegheny College and a master’s in fine arts in photography from Pratt Institute

Baldwin Wallace University

Robert C. Helmer, president of AICUO member Lourdes University, became the ninth president of Baldwin Wallace University on July 1, succeeding Richard W. Durst, who retired after seven years of service.

He holds degrees from the University of Notre Dame and the Catholic University of Louvain, a doctorate from Marquette University and the first degree in law from the University of Toledo. A historian, he joined the faculty at Lourdes in 1996 and was appointed vice president for academic affairs in 2001, then president in 2003.

Marietta College

Joseph W. Bruno became Marietta College’s 18th president on July 1, taking over upon the retirement of Jean A. Scott, who served for 12 years as president and two years as the chair of AICUO’s Executive Committee.

A chemist, Bruno spent 28 years in faculty and administrative roles at Wesleyan University in Middletown, Conn., ending his service as vice president for academic affairs. At Wesleyan he authored about 60 publications and patents, most of which were coauthored with students he mentored in his lab. He earned his bachelor’s degree at Augustana College, and his doctorate at Northwestern University.

Wittenberg University

Laurie M. Joyner became Wittenberg University’s 14th president on July 1, succeeding Mark H. Erickson, who served as president for seven years.

Wittenberg’s first female president, Joyner comes to Wittenberg after serving as vice president for planning and dean of the college at Rollins College in Winter Park, Fla., where she also served as interim provost and dean of the faculty. A sociologist, she earned her undergraduate degree at Loyola University New Orleans and her graduate degrees from Tulane University. She was one of the 42 vice presidential campus leaders selected to participate in the yearlong Executive Leadership Academy and the American Academic Leadership Institute in 2011.