Monday, December 10, 2012

Wild 4th-Period Rally Sends Mount Union Football to Friday's Championship Game


NCAA Division III Tournament

National Semifinal
Dec. 8 at Alliance, Ohio
Mount Union 48, Mary Hardin-Baylor 35

National Championship Game
Dec. 14, 7 p.m. EST at Salem, Va.
Mount Union vs. St. Thomas (Minn.)

Friday's game will be Mount Union's 16th appearance in the championship game, beginning in 1993, and St. Thomas's first. It will also be Mount Union's eighth consecutive championship game, and the first in this series in which the opponent will not be Wisconsin-Whitewater. Mount Union won three of those seven matchups, most recently in 2008.

Mount Union holds the record for championships won with 10 (in 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, and 2008). Other AICUO members that have won this tournament:

Dayton: 2 championships (1981, 1989)
Wittenberg: 2 championships (1973, 1975)
Baldwin Wallace: 1 championship (1978)

The competing teams are members of the independent college and university associations in their respective states, Ohio and Minnesota. At the other levels of NCAA football: Division I "FBS" (the former Division I-A), public vs. independent (Notre Dame (Ind.)); Division I "FCS" (I-AA), all four semifinalists are public universities; Division II, both finalists are public. In the NAIA championship game, both finalists are independent (Marian (Ind.) vs. Morningside (Iowa)).