Monday, March 17, 2014

Notre Dame College Claims NCAA Division II Wrestling Championship

A triumphant weekend in Cleveland for the Notre Dame College wrestling team culminated in its first NCAA Division II wrestling championship along with four individual national champions.

At the championship meet, which ended March 15, Jonatan Rivera (157 lb.), Eric Burgey (165 lb.), Joey Davis (174 lb.), and Garett Lineberger (184 lb.) won their individual events while the team finished with 99.5 points to unseat defending champion Nebraska-Kearney by a 35-point margin.

The title marks Notre Dame's first NCAA championship, in its second year of competition within the NCAA.